My Grandma’s “Potato Roast”

This recipe for Roast potatoes is a family staple. My mother, my grandmother and her mother have added to this recipe, we’ve subtracted, and we’ve incorporated new cooking techniques. I turn to this when I want comfort, or when I want to impress. Its also the recipe I’m asked for the most.

Ingredients (with links to some of the more obscure ingredients in case you want to know more about them)

Instructions

  1. Peel your potatoes, chop them roughly (I cut them into wedges for ideal finger food snacking) and wash them.  You can also use baby potatoes with the skin on.
  2. Once the potatoes are mostly dry (I just let them sit in the colander and use them once it stops dripping), put them into a mixing bowl and add all the spices listed above, toss and coat.
  3. Line your baking dish with wax paper or foil, add the potatoes, and top it off with the oil. You can add more if you want extra crunch.
  4. Bake the potatoes at 350F(180C) for 30 minutes. Finally, turn the heat up to the highest setting (I set it to broil) and let the potatoes brown for 5-7 minutes
  5. Take it out, cool it and eat it on its own, with rice and lentils, or even in a sandwich (for the most jacked up chip butty in the universe).
  6. As an optional step- add a squirt of fresh lime juice and some chopped coriander leaves just before serving to give it a burst of freshness.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Some of your ingredients are very intriguing as I’ve never heard of them. Will have to check them out.

    Like

  2. deviousdiv says:

    Thank you!! I’m happy to explain each ingredient in more detail if you like. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

