My Decadent, Very Chocolatey Banana Bread

Bananas are a huge part of my family’s culture and history. We use every single part of the banana plant, and we consider it a shame to waste or throw away uneaten or unused bananas. This recipe begins with a bunch of almost entirely blackened bananas I was very emotional about throwing out.  So I peeled the banana, and found it mushy, translucent and silky.

In short, it was perfect for banana bread.  Mind you, this is not a traditional banana bread. For one it has no eggs, and the end result is pretty dense, silky, sweet and moist.  But it is stupidly easy to make, and now I never throw away overripe bananas. And I always break up a good bar of chocolate to mix in so it becomes very decadent and chocolatey.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter (you can even substitute this with canola oil, or shortening for a vegan option)
  • 1 cup Turbinado sugar, powdered jaggery or any other brown sugar (you can cut this back too- I generally use a scant 3/4 cup of a turbinado – jaggery mix because Iocal bananas are very sweet.)
  • 1.5 cups all-purpose flour (I’ve mixed this with whole wheat, or spelt flour for a denser, more hearty cake)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 very ripe mashed bananas
  • 1-2 teaspoons good vanilla essence
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chunks/nuts/dried fruit

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Lightly grease an 8×4 inch loaf pan. (This can be made in any size pan or muffin tins just adjust the baking time)
  • In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar and add the vanilla essence. Sift in the flour, baking soda and salt. Blend in the mashed bananas. Stir in the chocolate chunks (or whatever else you plan to add). Pour batter into prepared pan.
  • Bake in the preheated oven for 60 minutes, or until it tests done with a toothpick.
  • Dust it with some powdered sugar for a festive look. (Or skip this step. Its not essential)

When I make this at home, I just add the roughly chopped bananas into my mixing bowl, and whip them with my hand mixer, and continue with the recipe.  It mashes the bananas beautifully and leaves me with one bowl to wash! Try this banana bread and let me know what you think!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

